Root Vege Fritters + Steak + Salad

Savoury

Root Vege Fritters + Steak + SaladEvery time I make these fritters they taste different, and have a different texture. This time the inside was mushier, which I didn’t like so much but I think I have worked out why – I didn’t squeeze the grated vegetables before I added the flour and water. So I will work this into the recipe, but you may need to add more water to get the mixture to hold.

To speed up the process, grate your vegetables in a food processor. I grated 2x carrots, 1x parsnip, 4x little kumara. Next time, I will put this into a tea towel and twist it so all the water is squeezed out. Add to a mixing bowl with some salt and pepper, 1/2 cup buckwheat flour and 1/4 cup water and mix together with your hands. You may need to add more water or flour depending on the consistency. What you want is a mixture that holds together if you squeeze it. Also, feel free to pop in chopped garlic or herbs. Other vegetables you could add are pumpkin, fresh turmeric, onion, potato, jerusalem artichokes, etc.

Heat a frying pan over a medium heat and add some canola oil, grab a handful of the mixture and mould in your hands then pop into the pan and brown both sides. This made a dozen last night, so you will have to cook these in batches. I had the oven going and popped them on a lined tray so they could keep cooking once browned, and I got the rest of dinner ready.

So while the fritters are being cooked, make up your salad. I did lettuce, grated carrot and beetroot, chopped orange and avocado with the juice of one lemon squeezed over and a drizzle of olive oil.

Cook your steak how you like and your dinner is ready.

Leave a Reply

