04

Meal Plan

Last week I didn’t do a very good job of fitting in my dinners with my hours at work, or what we needed to eat. So, this week I have tried to organise myself better…

vegetable soup – vegan, gluten free

As I have sorted out what vegetables I will be using for the meals this week, this is a good way to use up the leftovers. This soup will have onion, leek, pumpkin, kumara and parsnip.

Ingredients – olive oil, bay leaves, thyme, vegetables; onion, garlic, leek, kumara, pumpkin, parsnip

salad + steak + kumara chips – gluten free

Ingredients – salad things, steak, kumara, olive oil

cottage pie w/ mixed vege mash – vegan, gluten free

This recipe is courtesy of Kenko Kitchen, and one that I have wanted to make for awhile. Like all her recipes, I am sure this is a really yum recipe.

Ingredients – carrots, lentils, onion, garlic, herbs, tin of tomatoes, cauliflower, kumara, parsnip, leek

cauliflower mash + meatballs + greens – gluten free

I can’t remember if I have made the mash, but I will be keen to compare it against my cannellini bean mash. Will be a tough to beat that. I found this recipe in My Petite Kitchen Cookbook but she has it on her blog too.

Ingredients – cauliflower, garlic, mince, wholegrain oats, greens; spinach, beans, or broccoli

egg + breadcrumbed fish + coleslaw – gluten free

I will be doing the fish my usual way, with wholegrain rolled oats instead of breadcrumbs.

Ingredients – fish, egg, wholegrain oats, cabbage, carrots, tomatoes, red onion

‘skinny spaghetti’ – gluten free

I don’t like having pasta for dinner because I think the heaviness of the meal is too much to have in the evenings when I don’t do much. So using cabbage instead is a good alternative, especially as Mum is gluten free and pre diabetic so having lots of carbs for dinner isn’t a good idea. This recipe is by ‘The Londoner‘, and the mince sauce she makes with it has loads of flavour so you can’t tell there isn’t pasta. I think, anyway.

Ingredients – cabbage, mince, kidney beans, tins of tomatoes

burgers

Last week I said that I was gonna make burgers, but I didn’t cook one night as I wasn’t well so I’ll make them this week. And I am happy that I didn’t make them last week because I came across a very tasty looking burger in ‘Tartine Bread’ by – brioche bun, caramelised onions, pickles, aioli and beef patties. I am very much looking forward to making these!!

Ingredients – burger buns, mince, cheese, red onions, pickles, aioli

Leave a Reply

